Art Rotterdam

NN Group has been a partner of Art Rotterdam since 2017. The art fair focuses on the latest developments in contemporary visual art. Almost half of the gallery owners are from different countries, giving the fair a strong international character.

NN Art Award

Every year, NN Group presents a contemporary art prize, the NN Art Award. This award is for an exceptionally talented artist who was educated in the Netherlands and whose work can be seen at the fair. The winner of the award receives a cash prize of 10,000 euros. In addition, NN Group purchases work from the nominees for our corporate collection.

With this prize, NN highlights the exceptional quality of Dutch art education, which is recognised internationally. From all over the world, young artists know how to find their way to the Dutch academies, where they learn to achieve their full potential.

NN Art Award Public Choice

In 2021 the NN Art Award Public Choice was introduced in addition to the NN Art Award. Art enthusiasts and visitors of Art Rotterdam can vote for their favourite nominated artist. The person with the most votes wins the Public Choice Award and receives an amount of 5,000 euros to further their artistic journey.

NN Art Award 2024 won by Peim van der Sloot

The nominees for the NN Art Award 2024 were:

  • Maaike Kramer - Art Gallery O-68
  • Mónica Mays - Prospects, Mondriaan Fund
  • Jan van der Pol - CREMAN & DE ROOIJ
  • Peim van der Sloot - Brinkman & Bergsma

The jury consisted of Charlotte Martens (senior curator Kunsthal Rotterdam), Henk Drosterij (art collector), Monali Meher (visual artist and winner NNArtAward2023), Nicole Ex (editor-in-chief See All This) and Maartje de Roy van Zuydewijn (curator NN Art Collection).

NN Art Award 2023 won by Monali Meher

Fleur en Monali, winner NN Art Award 2023

The nominees for the NN Art Award 2023 were:

  • Salim Bayri – Prospects, Mondriaan Fund
  • Kévin Bray – Upstream Gallery
  • Laura Jatkowski – Prospects, Mondriaan Fund
  • Monali Meher – Lumen Travo Gallery

The jury consisted of Inez de Brauw (visual artist and winner of NN Art Award Public Choice 2022), Yolande van der Heide (curator at Van Abbemuseum), Ali Keles (collector and Managing Partner Lakeside Capital Partners), Marina de Vries (editor-in-chief Museum magazine) and Elisah van den Bergh (former curator NN Art Collection)

NN Art Award 2022 won by Vytautas Kumža

The nominees for the NN Art award 2022 were:

  • Inez de Brauw - Brinkman & Bergsma

  • Vytautas Kumža - Gallery Martin van Zomeren

  • Thierry Oussou - Lumen Travo Gallery

  • Jennifer Tee - Gallery Fons Welters

The jury was comprised of Yuki Kho (culture journalist), Alexandra Landré (artistic director Stroom, The Hague), Charl Landvreugd (head of research & curatorial practice, Stedelijk Museum Amsterdam), Erik Mattijssen (artist and winner NN Art Award 2021), and Elisah van den Bergh (curator NN Art Collection).

NN Art Award 2021 won by Erik Mattijsen

The nominees for the NN Art Award 2021 were:

  • Priscila Fernandes, Division of Labour, London

  • Lilian Kreutzberger, CINNNAMON, Rotterdam

  • Claudia Martínez Garay, GRIMM, Amsterdam

  • Erik Mattijssen, Cokkie Snoei, Rotterdam

The jury consisted of Imara Limon (curator, Amsterdam Museum), Reyn van der Lugt (collector), Suzanne Swarts (director Museum Voorlinden), Koen Taselaar (visual artist and nominee NN Art Award 2020), Els Drummen (curator CODA Apeldoorn), and Elisah van den Bergh (curator NN Art Collection).

NN Art Award 2020 won by Ana Navas

The nominees for the NN Art Award 2020 were:

In 2020, the jury consisted of Sofia Hernández Chong Cuy (director Witte de With), Sietske van Zanten (director LAM museum), Katja Mater (visual artist), Jan Pieter Ekker (head of art Het Parool) and Els Drummen (curator NN Art Collection).

NN Art Award 2019 won by Katja Mater

Katja Mater

The nominees for the NN Art Award 2019 were:

  • Matea Bakula, Lumen Travo Gallery, Amsterdam

  • Harm van den Dorpel, Upstream Gallery, Amsterdam

  • Katja Mater. Gallery Martin van Zomeren, Amsterdam

  • Femmy Otten. Fons Welters, Amsterdam

In 2019, the jury consisted of Eelco van der Lingen (curator Fries Museum and future director Mondriaan Fund), Liesbeth Willems (curator KRC art collection), Lieneke Hulshof (editor-in-chief Mr. Motley magazine), Marcel van Eeden (visual artist), and Els Drummen (curator NN Art Collection).

NN Art Award 2018 won by Pauline Curnier Jardin

The nominees for the NN Art Award 2018 were:

  • Salim Bayri. SIGN, Groningen

  • Pauline Curnier Jardin. Ellen de Bruijne Projects, Amsterdam

  • Rafaël Rozendaal. Upstream Gallery, Amsterdam

  • Sam Samiee. (re)D. gallery, Antwerp, Belgium

In 2018, the jury consisted of Mariette Dölle (director Museum Kranenburgh, Bergen), Anna van Leeuwen (art critic De Volkskrant), Iris Kensmil (visual artist), Xander Karskens (artistic director Cobra Museum, Amstelveen) and Els Drummen (curator NN Art Collection).

NN Art Award 2017 won by Florian & Michael Quistrebert

The nominees for the NN Art Award 2017 were:

  • Zoro Feigl, C&H Gallery, Amsterdam

  • Chaim van Luit, tegenboschvanvreden, Amsterdam

  • Wouter Paijmans, Stigter van Doesburg, Amsterdam

  • Florian and Michael Quistrebert, Juliètte Jongma, Amsterdam

In 2017, the jury consisted of Hilda Bouma (journalist Het Financieele Dagblad), Saskia van Kampen-Prein (curator of modern and contemporary art museum Boijmans Van Beuningen), Antoine de Werd (collector), and Els Drummen (curator NN Art Collection).

  • Form could not be processed

Our main brands